ciao

May 25, 2010

Red for Tuesday: Durga Day

I have never met a culture so attached to goodbye as in Italy.

They spend 2 minutes in conversation and 3 minutes repeating ‘ciao’ with various melodies and intensities. In India they simply walk away or hang up the phone. I started to feel like it is a bad omen to say goodbye to someone, as if we’re really saying: ‘In case I never see you again, goodbye.’

I see it in India as: ‘We are one and that oneness is eternal.’

When my teacher walks away from me, I feel like she is blessing me and I smile.

Leave a Reply

